Most of  vegans refrain from consuming probiotics as they might consist of some non-vegan elements such as dairy. Probiotics usually contain lactobacillus which is present everywhere; even in our digestive system as well as for those who do not eat dairy. Often people have the misconception of associating lactobacillus with lactose. However, it is true that lactobacillus is used to ferment dairy to make yogurt and cheese.

This might be confusing for a lot people in order to understand the difference between vegan probiotics and non-dairy probiotics.

Yogurt and cheese are the most common and convenient source of probiotics known to mankind. However, the people who are on a quest to refrain from dairy products might not consider taking them.

Similarly, there are people on a vegan diet and many probiotics are also made from many animal derived substances and products. These are a good source of maintaining a healthy body! However, those who are not in favour of non-vegan foods and are strictly vegan might not be able to make use of them.

You might be interested to know that there are vegan probiotics and non-dairy probiotics available today and many people consider the two to be quite similar. Keeping this in mind, we present to you a few differences between the two kinds of probiotics so that you are well aware of them.

Differences between non diary probiotics and vegan probiotics

non dairy probioticsAs we can guess from the name that non-dairy probiotics are made by using products and substances that do not contain dairy. Majority of the dairy products have lactose in it and there are people who are lactose intolerant. This means that they are unable to eat foods that might contain dairy. Therefore, for the benefit and convenience of such people non diary probiotics are now made so that they are able to take them without any fear.

  • For the people avoiding dairy products, non-dairy probiotics are available. In the same way for the people on a vegan diet, vegan probiotics are available.
    Like mentioned earlier many probiotics are derived from animal substances and products and the people on a vegan diet are unable to make use of them. All those on a vegan diet will be happy to know that there are vegan probiotics available that are made completely from vegan substances and products.
  • One great way to differentiate between the two is that there are chances of non-dairy probiotics to be non-vegan but all vegan probiotics will be non-dairy as dairy is also considered a non-vegan food and people on a vegan diet might not want to make use of them. Therefore, they are never a part of the vegan probiotics.
  • Many people on a vegan diet are very strict about the food they take and make sure that they do not make use of any food that might be non-vegan therefore; the vegan probiotics are made solely for them.

So these were just a few differences between the two different kinds of probiotics. Like mentioned earlier probiotics are quite beneficial for our body therefore, different kinds of probiotics are being made for different kinds of needs and requirements. Click here If you would like to learn more about the differences between refrigerated probiotics and non refrigerated probiotics.

refrigeratedprobiotics.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.